Substack & Science

Hello Crossref community!

My name’s Dayne, I’m a product researcher at Substack, a writing platform.

Substack hosts some of the top academics and public intellectuals in the world, but articles published on Substack don’t conform to academic standards, and are therefore not citable. This is something we hope to change, and I’m eager to understand what we need to do to make this happen.

I’m not an academic myself, and I’m trying to wrap my head around how the system of citations works, and what exactly Substack would need to do/change/build in order for articles to be citable, and for citations to contribute to the author’s citation count on Google Scholar.

Any advice or insights would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks in advance.

Dayne

1 Like

Hi Dayne,

That’s a big topic! Crossref metadata and DOIs aren’t connected with Google Scholar and we don’t have insight into their processes, it’s a bit of a mystery to many.

That said, there are some general best practices that help make blog content more discoverable. Registering DOIs for blog posts creates metadata records that become part of the Research Nexus we are building, and DOIs also make blog posts easy to cite. Other best practices include making blogs friendly to reference managers (like Zotero, for example), and tagging bibliographic metadata like author name, title, blog name, and date with Schema.org vocabularies. Providing citation recommendations are fairly common as well (e.g. ’this is how you cite this blog post’).

I hope this is useful, I’m happy to discuss this further if you’d like to have a call.

2 Likes

Thank you Patricia! I’ll respond to your email.