DOI Registration via Web Deposit Form

Greetings All,

I am very new to research publications, registering DOIs, and Crossref so please bear with me. I recently figured out how to register a DOI through the Web Deposit Form and think I have the process down well except for this one article.

In registering a DOI, the article is from an organization’s 2021 journal issue of which I have the journal’s ISSN. However, its the same ISSN as the journal from it’s 2020 issue and when I try to link a DOI to the 2021 issue I get an error that the ISSN already exists. My understanding is each journal is an independent publication therefore each issue should have its own unique ISSN number, correct? Or is that number linked to the Organization or it’s journal series? If the organization can share ISSNs across it’s journals how can I link a DIO to two different articles from two different journal issues with the same ISSN?

Thanks in advance,

Keith

1 Like

Hi Keith,

It sounds like you accidentally registered the 2020 issue as if the issue were the whole journal. I can’t be totally sure, unless I see the submission itself. Could you email support@crossref.org with the submission ID number or copy of the submission log where you see that “ISSN…has already been assigned” error? We’ll be happy to take a look at the details and advise next steps.

I’m also just going to leave some basic web deposit form advice here, for context. You may already know all this.

Broadly speaking, to register DOIs for all articles in a given issue, the steps to take to use the web deposit form are as follows:

1. Select the Journal data type
  2. Enter the Journal and Issue level metadata on the first page of the form. At minimum this includes: Journal title, abbreviated journal title, ISSN(s), and at least one publication year (print or online). If applicable, also enter issue number, volume number, and full publication dates.